Friday, October 21, 2016

Book Review: Gemina

Title: Gemina (the Illuminae Files #2)
Author: Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff
Genre: Young Adult | Sci-Fi
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: October 18, 2016
Format: ARC
Source: BEA

Moving to a space station at the edge of the galaxy was always going to be the death of Hanna’s social life. Nobody said it might actually get her killed.
The sci-fi saga that began with the breakout bestseller Illuminae continues on board the Jump Station Heimdall, where two new characters will confront the next wave of the BeiTech assault.
Hanna is the station captain’s pampered daughter; Nik the reluctant member of a notorious crime family. But while the pair are struggling with the realities of life aboard the galaxy's most boring space station, little do they know that Kady Grant and the Hypatia are headed right toward Heimdall, carrying news of the Kerenza invasion.
When an elite BeiTech strike team invades the station, Hanna and Nik are thrown together to defend their home. But alien predators are picking off the station residents one by one, and a malfunction in the station's wormhole means the space-time continuum might be ripped in two before dinner. Soon Hanna and Nik aren’t just fighting for their own survival; the fate of everyone on the Hypatia—and possibly the known universe—is in their hands.
But relax. They've totally got this. They hope.
Once again told through a compelling dossier of emails, IMs, classified files, transcripts, and schematics, Gemina raises the stakes of the Illuminae Files, hurling readers into an enthralling new story that will leave them breathless (goodreads)

The question after Illuminae was, "what more can these two do?" And the answer is: SO MUCH MORE. 
Thursday, October 20, 2016

Book Review: The Flame Never Dies

Title: The Flame Never Dies (The Stars Never Rise #2)
Author: Rachel Vincent
Genre: Young Adult | Dystopia | Demons
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Publication Date: August 16, 2016
Format: Hardcover
Source: Library

One spark will rise.
Nina Kane was born to be an exorcist. And since uncovering the horrifying truth—that the war against demons is far from over—seventeen-year-old Nina and her pregnant younger sister, Mellie, have been on the run, incinerating the remains of the demon horde as they go.
In the badlands, Nina, Mellie, and Finn, the fugitive and rogue exorcist who saved her life, find allies in a group of freedom fighters. They also face a new threat: Pandemonia, a city full of demons. But this fresh new hell is the least of Nina’s worries. The well of souls ran dry more than a century ago, drained by the demons secretly living among humans, and without a donor soul, Mellie’s child will die within hours of its birth.
Nina isn’t about to let that happen…even if it means she has to make the ultimate sacrifice (goodreads).


The Flame Never Dies is an exciting, albeit, unsatisfying conclusion. 
Tuesday, October 18, 2016

First Thoughts [#96]

First Thoughts is a feature where I give my initial impression of my current read.

Friday, October 14, 2016

Book Review: The Stranger Game

 Title: The Stranger Game
Author: Cylin Busby
Genre: Young Adult | Mystery 
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Publication Date: October 25, 2016
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher

The Stranger Game is a dark, suspenseful, and twisty young adult novel—perfect for fans of Lauren Oliver and E. Lockhart—about fifteen-year-old Nico Walker, whose sister returns home after a four-year disappearance.
When Nico Walker's older sister mysteriously disappears, her parents, family, and friends are devastated. But Nico can never admit what she herself feels: relief at finally being free of Sarah's daily cruelties.
Then the best and worst thing happens: four years later, after dozens of false leads, Sarah is found.
But this girl is much changed from the one Nico knew. She's thin and drawn, where Sarah had been golden and athletic; timid and unsure, instead of brash and competitive; and strangest of all, sweet and kind, when she had once been mean and abusive. Sarah's retrograde amnesia has caused her to forget almost everything about her life, from small things like the plots of her favorite books and her tennis game to the more critical—where she's been the last four years and what happened at the park on the fateful day she vanished. Despite the happy ending, the dark details of that day continue to haunt Nico, and it becomes clear that more than one person knows the true story of what happened to Sarah. . . . (goodreads)

The Stranger Game isn't the most unique in the genre, but it is fun and fulfilling read!
Thursday, October 13, 2016

Book Review: The Call

 Title: The Call
Author: Peadar Guilon

Genre: Young Adult | Fae | Horror
Publisher: David Fickling Books
Publication Date: August 30, 2016
Format: Physical
Source: Library

Imagine a world where you might disappear any minute, only to find yourself alone in a grey sickly land, with more horrors in it than you would ever wish to know about. And then you hear a horn and you know that whoever lives in this hell has got your scent and the hunt has already begun.
Could you survive the Call (goodreads)?

The Call is a unique take on the fae folklore that doesn't hold back!
Wednesday, October 12, 2016

[Meme]Waiting on Wednesday [#95]


Title: Heartless
Author: Marissa Meyer
Publisher: Feiwel and Friends
Publication Date: November 8, 2016

Catherine may be one of the most desired girls in Wonderland, and a favorite of the yet-unmarried King of Hearts, but her interests lie elsewhere. A talented baker, all she wants is to open a shop with her best friend and supply the Kingdom of Hearts with delectable pastries and confections. But according to her mother, such a goal is unthinkable for the young woman who could be the next Queen.
At a royal ball where Cath is expected to receive the king's marriage proposal, she meets Jest, the handsome and mysterious court joker. For the first time, she feels the pull of true attraction. At the risk of offending the King and infuriating her parents, she and Jest enter into an intense, secret courtship.
Cath is determined to define her own destiny and fall in love on her terms. But in a land thriving with magic, madness, and monsters, fate has other plans (goodreads).

Tuesday, October 11, 2016

First Thoughts [#95]

First Thoughts is a feature where I give my initial impression of my current read.

Friday, October 7, 2016

Book Review: The Women in the Walls

Title: The Women in the Walls
Author: Amy Lukavics

Genre: Young Adult | Horror | Mystery
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Publication Date: September 27, 2016
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher

Lucy Acosta's mother died when she was three. Growing up in a Victorian mansion in the middle of the woods with her cold, distant father, she explored the dark hallways of the estate with her cousin, Margaret. They're inseparable—a family.  
When her aunt Penelope, the only mother she's ever known, tragically disappears while walking in the woods surrounding their estate, Lucy finds herself devastated and alone. Margaret has been spending a lot of time in the attic. She claims she can hear her dead mother's voice whispering from the walls. Emotionally shut out by her father, Lucy watches helplessly as her cousin's sanity slowly unravels. But when she begins hearing voices herself, Lucy finds herself confronting an ancient and deadly legacy that has marked the women in her family for generations (goodreads).

The Women in the Walls was a disappointing follow-up to Daughters unto Devils.