Tuesday, June 21, 2016

First Thoughts [#43]

First Thoughts is a feature where I give my initial impression of my current read.


Friday, June 17, 2016

Book Review: Summer Days and Summer Nights

Title: Summer Days and Summer Nights: Twelve Love Stories
Author: Various
Genre: Young Adult | Contemporary | Romance
Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin
Publication Date: May 17, 2016 
Format: Hardcover 
Source: Library

Maybe it's the long, lazy days, or maybe it's the heat making everyone a little bit crazy. Whatever the reason, summer is the perfect time for love to bloom. Summer Days & Summer Nights: Twelve Love Stories, written by twelve bestselling young adult writers and edited by the international bestselling author Stephanie Perkins, will have you dreaming of sunset strolls by the lake. So set out your beach chair and grab your sunglasses. You have twelve reasons this summer to soak up the sun and fall in love (goodreads).



Stephanie Perkins is back at it again with a collection of love stories. While not as memorable as her Christmas collection, I did enjoy Summer Days and Summer Nights for what it was. I've broken down my review per short story below. 
Thursday, June 16, 2016

Book Review: This Savage Song

Title:This Savage Song (Monsters of Verity #1)
Author: Victoria Schwab
Genre: Young Adult | Dystopian
Publisher: Greenwillow  Books
Publication Date: July 5, 2016
Format: e-ARC
Source:  Publisher


There’s no such thing as safe in a city at war, a city overrun with monsters. In this dark urban fantasy from acclaimed author Victoria Schwaba young woman and a young man must choose whether to become heroes or villains—and friends or enemies—with the future of their home at stake. The first of two books, This Savage Song is a must-have for fans of Holly Black, Maggie Stiefvater, and Laini Taylor.
Kate Harker and August Flynn are the heirs to a divided city—a city where the violence has begun to breed actual monsters. All Kate wants is to be as ruthless as her father, who lets the monsters roam free and makes the humans pay for his protection. All August wants is to be human, as good-hearted as his own father, to play a bigger role in protecting the innocent—but he’s one of the monsters. One who can steal a soul with a simple strain of music. When the chance arises to keep an eye on Kate, who’s just been kicked out of her sixth boarding school and returned home, August jumps at it. But Kate discovers August’s secret, and after a failed assassination attempt the pair must flee for their lives. In This Savage Song, Victoria Schwab creates a gritty, seething metropolis, one worthy of being compared to Gotham and to the four versions of London in her critically acclaimed fantasy for adults, A Darker Shade of Magic. Her heroes will face monsters intent on destroying them from every side—including the monsters within (goodreads). 

This Savage Song explores great complex characters but doesn't end with the bang that I was expecting. 
Tuesday, June 14, 2016

First Thoughts [#42]

 
First Thoughts is a feature where I give my initial impression of my current read.


Monday, June 13, 2016

[Discussion] A Court of Mist and Fury Appreciation Post


A little over a week ago, I read A Court of Mist and Fury and I just haven't been able to get over it. Today I want to share and fangirl with you all about what made A Court of Mist and Fury so special for me. Be warned, spoilers ahead!
Friday, June 10, 2016

Book Review: A Court of Mist and Fury

 Title: A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses #2)
Author: Sarah J. Maas

Genre:  New Adult | Fantasy | Romance | Adventure
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Publication Date: May 3, 2016
Source: Purchased (B&N)
Format: Hardcover

Feyre survived Amarantha's clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can't forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin's people.
Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two (goodreads).



Never have I started rereading a book as soon as I had finished it. 
Thursday, June 9, 2016

Book Review: And I Darken

Title: And I Darken (The Conqueror's Saga #1)
Author: Kiersten White
Genre: Young Adult | Historical Fiction
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Publication Date: 
Format: ARC
Source: C2E2

NO ONE EXPECTS A PRINCESS TO BE BRUTAL. 
And Lada Dragwlya likes it that way. Ever since she and her gentle younger brother, Radu, were wrenched from their homeland of Wallachia and abandoned by their father to be raised in the Ottoman courts, Lada has known that being ruthless is the key to survival. She and Radu are doomed to act as pawns in a vicious game, an unseen sword hovering over their every move. For the lineage that makes them special also makes them targets.
Lada despises the Ottomans and bides her time, planning her vengeance for the day when she can return to Wallachia and claim her birthright. Radu longs only for a place where he feels safe. And when they meet Mehmed, the defiant and lonely son of the sultan, who’s expected to rule a nation, Radu feels that he’s made a true friend—and Lada wonders if she’s finally found someone worthy of her passion.
But Mehmed is heir to the very empire that Lada has sworn to fight against—and that Radu now considers home. Together, Lada, Radu, and Mehmed form a toxic triangle that strains the bonds of love and loyalty to the breaking point.
From New York Times bestselling author Kiersten White comes the first book in a dark, sweeping new series in which heads will roll, bodies will be impaled . . . and hearts will be broken (goodreads)


And  Darken was a brutal, brutal book. 
Wednesday, June 8, 2016

[Meme]Waiting on Wednesday [#91]



Title: P.S. I Like You
Author: Kasie West
Publisher: Point
Publication Date: July 26, 2016

What if the person you were falling for was a total mystery?
While Lily is spacing out in Chemistry one day, she picks up her pencil and scribbles a line from one of her favorite songs on the desk. The next day, someone else has written back to her on the desk! Soon enough Lily and the mystery student are exchanging notes, and lyrics, and even sharing secrets. When Lily finds out that her anonymous pen pal is a guy, she's flustered -- and kind of feels like she's falling for him. She and her best friend set out to unravel the identity of the letter writer -- but when the truth is revealed, the guy is the LAST person Lily could have ever imagined it to be. Now that Lily knows the truth, can she untangle her feelings and gather the courage to listen to her heart (goodreads)?
Tuesday, June 7, 2016

First Thoughts [#41]



First Thoughts is a feature where I give my initial impression of my current read.