Thursday, December 22, 2016

Book Review: Lock and Mori Mind Games

Title: Mind Games (Lock and Mori #2)
Author: Heather W. Petty
Genre: Young Adult | Retelling | Mystery | Romance
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
Publication Date: December 6, 2016
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher


Sherlock Holmes and Miss James “Mori” Moriarty may have closed their first case, but the mystery is far from over in the thrilling sequel to Lock & Mori, perfect for fans of Maureen Johnson and Sherlock.
You know their names. Now discover their beginnings. 
Mori’s abusive father is behind bars…and she has never felt less safe. Threatening letters have started appearing on her doorstep, and the police are receiving anonymous tips suggesting that Mori—not her father—is the Regent’s Park killer. To make matters worse, the police are beginning to believe them.
Through it all, Lock—frustrating, brilliant, gorgeous Lock—is by her side. The two of them set out to discover who is framing Mori, but in a city full of suspects, the task is easier said than done. With the clock ticking, Mori will discover just how far she is willing to go to make sure that justice is served, and no one—not even Lock—will be able to stop her (goodreads).


Not as much of a shocker as Lock and Mori, but Mind Games does up the ante!
Plot: With the shocking events of Lock and Mori, I couldn't imagine where the sequel would go. Not surprisingly, Mind Games opens with Mori trying to cope with the events of the Regent Park serial killer and try to piece together what little she knew about her mother. It seems the police are against her, and her father is taunting her from jail. I felt as though the mystery in Mind Games was more secondary compared to Lock and Mori. I didn't feel the rush or need to keep reading until the last third of the book with Mori is desperately trying to figure out who done it. I can tell that this novel was set up for the climatic third book. 

Characters: Lock and Mori are in an unknown territory in terms of their relationship. Their differences are more obvious now, but their pull is dynamic and I enjoyed how they used each other for comfort.  I still can't imagine how the two of them will embody their literary counterparts. 

Worldbuilding: I feel like Mori ran all of London. There wasn't a chapter where Mori didn't run to the local park, hop over to the hospital, take public transit to the county. It was actually kind of exhausting to be pulled to so many different locations. 

Short N Sweet: Mind Games wasn't as memorable as its predecessor, but it did set up for a shocking third book!



0 comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks so much for leaving a message! Don't forget to link me to your blog so I can return the favor!